book: Mitchell’s Guide to the Game of Chess

David A. Mitchell. Mitchell’s Guide to the Game of Chess, revised edition. David McKay Company, 1938. 117 pages.

I’m sure there are much better chess books out there. This is pretty poorly written, to the extent that I don’t think I could have followed it if I weren’t already an experienced (if bad) chess player. However, after studying several of the included annotated sample games (which, incidentally, I think you can find online), I do think I’m a much better player than I was – or at least I have an improved perspective on how to approach a game. I might come back to it again later for some more sample games; for now, I can only spend so much time watching someone else play chess.

4/10 (Eh).

Leave a Reply

