album: Once Upon a Summertime…

Blossom Dearie. Once Upon a Summertime…. Essential Jazz Classics EJC55458, 2010 (originally released by Verve, 1958). (on CD, packaged with the album My Gentleman Friend)

The best Blossom Dearie album I’ve heard yet – which is saying something. I’d never known “Tea for Two” was a great song until I heard her version. She also sings one of my favorite songs, “Surrey with the Fringe on Top,” and the delightfully ridiculous “Doop-Doo-De-Doo” (which is as fun as it sounds).

10/10 (Favorite of my favorites).

Leave a Reply

