game: Checkers

My wife and I have decided to play every board game/card game we own (including every game that we have an official set of rules for + the necessary equipment to play – close to 80 games), and blog about them together. Here’s one now:

Game: Checkers
Overview: a two-player strategy game in which players try to capture their opponents’ pieces
Edition: A cheap magnetic travel set. Instructions from Play According to Hoyle: Hoyle’s Rules of Games, edited by Albert H. Morehead & Geoffrey Mott-Smith, 1946, re-published 1983.
Duration: less than a half hour, including reading instructions

Winner’s Impression (Lynn)
I can probably count on my fingers the number of times I’ve played checkers in my life, and I suspect that this is the first time I’ve actually won the game. Games which incorporate strategy, as we’ve noted, are not my strong point. Honestly, this game should probably have ended in a draw. As for the game itself, I could take it or leave it. Mostly leave it.

Loser’s Impression (Daniel)
A simple, abstract strategy game should be the sort of thing I love, but for whatever reason I never really get anything out of playing checkers. It just seems sort of automatic, kind of like tic-tac-toe. I mean, obviously there’s more to it than that, but it has that sort of flavor to me. Nom nom. Whatever. Must stop typing now. 5/10 (Indifferent).

Leave a Reply

